Search committee

A 21-person presidential search committee will partner with a national search firm to identify finalists for the next president of Iowa State.

Co-chaired by Dan Houston, president and CEO of Principal Financial Group, and Luis Rico-Gutierrez, dean of the College of Design, the committee includes eight faculty members, two students, one staff member and representatives from the alumni association, ISU Foundation and Ames community. Regents Patty Cownie, Sherry Bates, Milt Dakovich and Nancy Boettger also will serve on the committee, with board staff members Rachel Boon (interim chief academic officer) and Mark Braun (chief operating officer) serving in ex-officio roles.


Dan Houston (co-chair)

President and CEO, Principal Financial Group

Luis Rico-Gutierrez (co-chair)

Dean, College of Design

Rachel Allbaugh

Associate professor, veterinary clinical sciences

Sherry Bates


Monic P. Behnken

Associate professor, sociology

Jessica Bell

President, Professional and Scientific Council

Nancy Boettger


Patty Cownie


Milt Dakovich


Tim Day

President, Faculty Senate

Ann Marie Fiore

University Professor, apparel, events and hospitality management

Steven Freeman

University Professor, agricultural and biosystems engineering

Tom Hill

Retired senior policy adviser

Ric Jurgens

Retired chairman, CEO and president, Hy-Vee

Vivek Lawana

President, Graduate and Professional Student Senate

Thea Oberlander

Retired alum, College of Business

Brent Shanks

Professor, chemical and biological engineering

Charles (Brad) Shrader

Morrill Professor, management

Gary Streit


Cody West

President, Student Government

Steve Zumbach


Rachel Boon (ex-officio)

Interim chief academic officer, Board of Regents

Mark Braun (ex-officio)

Chief operating officer, Board of Regents